Your Good Health is Our Good Health: Creating a Better World, One Person at a Time

by Timothy Wilder
dailygranolacovercrop_CTLP

My Gratitude to Laura

I consider Laura to be a very dear friend, and I am grateful to her for having me in her life and inviting me to be a guest on her blog. Her blog is a great inspiration to all who wish to live healthier and happier lives!

Right now, I am neither vegan nor vegetarian, though over the last few years I have greatly reduced the amount of animal products in my diet for several reasons. This has been an ongoing process, one that stems from my interest in healthy eating, exercise, and related social and ecological issues. I find  it is important for me to fully research and understand all ideas before changing my lifestyle and to introduce those changes slowly. This helps me to better stick with the new changes and  turn them into a lasting lifestyle. I have learned much about these topics from Laura and other important people in my life.

Reconnecting with My True Self

I often wonder how many others out there have been through, or are now going through, situations similar  to my own. A few short years ago, I was sick. Very sick! I was overweight, had high blood pressure, high cholesterol, stomach ulcers, and a variety of  other health problems. But these were merely physical manifestations of all the other unhealthy aspects of my life. I was in a bad marriage (which I was equally guilty for creating). I hated my job and hated my life. Inside, I was wracked with anger, guilt, pain, anxiety, and confusion. I was disconnected from my True Self.  I was slowly committing suicide.

Then I decided to change all of that. I decided to reconnect: to begin living again, instead of merely existing. I decided to become healthy and to become happy. Happiness and wellness are both decisions we  make in our lives and actions we take. Good health and happiness are not events that “just happen” to us. Again, they are actions we take. Slowly, I began to increase my physical activity and change the foods I chose to eat. It wasn’t long before I began to feel much happier.

In my mind, to be healthy is to be happy. Happiness is directly connected to our overall health. Good health is not only the absence of physical ailment or injury. Our overall wellness encompasses aspects of mental, social, intellectual, spiritual, emotional, environmental, economic, and occupational health.

The key to improving our overall wellness is to be mindful of all these aspects of our health and continually strive to balance them.  Through exercise, diet, meditation, inner reflection, and many other actions, I have made great progress in living a healthier, happier life. I do sometimes still struggle with some of my past issues, though. It is a natural part of the process. We will sometimes slide backwards into familiar bad habits. But we cannot give up. We must correct ourselves as soon as possible and move forward again.

Our Role in Bettering the World

By making small, positive, healthy changes in your life every day, you can make an overall difference in the world.  Individual wellness becomes public wellness.  A society with an overwhelming number of sick individuals becomes a sick society.  Public health is connected to all of the social issues we face.  It is directly connected to humanism, feminism, racism, socioeconomic issues, etc. By making positive changes in your life, you will make a difference in your personal world first, and these will grow outwardly across the living web. One person at a time. One thought at a time. One action at a time.

Leave a Reply

